The Primary Curriculum is divided into Key Stage 1 and 2, to provide age appropriate levels of education.  Through a differentiated educational programme, variances in abilities and curriculum exposure are addressed.  If required, additional support can be offered through our Additional Support Department.

The Key Stage 1 curriculum builds on the skills students have developed in the Early Years Foundation Stage.  This learning development continues into Key Stage 2 which ends at Year 6.

The content covered in individual subjects is derived from stipulated Programmes of Study which encompasses:

  • Mathematics
  • English
  • Science
  • Art and Design
  • Computing
  • Design and Technology
  • Geography
  • History
  • Music
  • Physical Education and Swimming

Other curriculum subjects offered include:

  • Personal, Social, Health and Economic Education
  • Religious Education
  • French as a Modern Foreign Language
  • Kiswahili

Assessment at Braeside School is continuous, clarifying what each child should know, understand and do in a lesson.  It also encourages children to review what they have learnt and the next steps in their learning, utilising a range of strategies.  Data from assessment is used to celebrate children’s achievements, identify areas of development and inform planning for the school as a whole.  Assessment is carried out through target setting, project work, written assessments and homework assignments.

IB World School Status
Council of British International Schools
Independent Schools Inspectorate
GL Education Assessment Excellence
Association of British Schools Overseas
The Independent Association of Prep Schools
Cambridge International Examinations
BTEC Level 3
Association of International Schools in Africa
International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme
International Baccalaureate Career Related Programme
Council of International Schools